From Our History
Jump to navigation Jump to search

This page relates to the Chair of Medicine. See also Faculty of Medicine.

The Chair of Medicine was previously titled 'Practice of Physic' and 'Theory and Practice of Physic'. Sir Robert Sibbald (1641-1722), Archibald Pitcairne (1652-1713), and Sir James Halkett (d1670) were all appointed professors in 1685 but were not specifically designated to Medicine. This was still the period of Regenting.