From Our History
Revision as of 15:09, 24 April 2015 by GButtars (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Zoology emerged from Natural History. When the Faculty of Science was founded in 1893, the Chair of Natural History remained under the Faculty of Medicine, though its incumbent, James Cossar Ewart (1851-1933) became part of the new Faculty. Around this time, the Department, courses and Museum seem to have been restyled as 'Zoology'. Zoology had been taught at Edinburgh since 1767 as part of the Natural History course. The Chair of Zoology was founded in 1919.

Professors of Zoology

James Hartley Ashworth (1874-1936), 1919-1927, became Professor of Natural History

John Murdoch Mitchison (1922-2011), 1963-1988


Sir Patrick Geddes (1854-1932), 1880-1888